Triple-Cheese Macaroni (the weekly meal)

Triple-Cheese Macaroni (1)

Taste of Home is a fantastic go-to recipe source. At least that’s what I think, in case you didn’t notice 🙂

I usually do make a meal every week, but its been kinda screwy the last few weeks. Finally I had a semi-normal meal consisting of macaroni & cheese, frozen fish fillets, and salad. The salad was pretty uncomplicated, and the frozen fish aren’t ideal, but they are good for Fridays in a pinch!

The macaroni, though…oh was it good! I’m not a mustard fan, but in this dish I didn’t mind it! Granted, I would cut it down the next time I made it.

This recipe comes directly, unchanged, and fantastically un-adapted from Katie Sloan via Taste of Home. Any time you’re looking for a tried-and-true comfort food recipe, trust me, Taste of Home rules.

So when you’re going to melt the process cheese, use the microwave. No, seriously. I learned the hard, messy-saucepan, cooked-cheese way. Use the microwave.

This recipe came together in about half-an-hour (not counting cooking time), which I think is pretty good considering I had never made it before. Actually, I’ve never made macaroni-and-cheese before! Well…Kraft doesn’t count. I used a dutch oven to whisk the egg and cheese mixture together, then I just added the macaroni to that and threw the whole thing in the oven!

Triple-Cheese Macaroni

Ingredients:

16 oz. (1 package) elbow macaroni

2 eggs

12 oz (1 can)evaporated milk

1/4 c. (1/2 stick) butter, melted

2 T. mustard

1 t. seasoned salt

1 t. pepper

8 oz. process cheese (Velveeta), melted

2 c. (8 oz) shredded mild cheddar cheese, divided

2 c. (8 oz) shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Cook macaroni according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, butter, mustard, seasoned salt and pepper until combined. Stir in the rpocess cheese and 1 1/2 cups of each cheddar cheese.

Drain macaroni; stir into cheese mixture. Pour into a greased 3-qt. baking dish. Top with remaining cheeses. Bake uncovered for 25-30 min. or until cheese is melted and edges are bubbly.

YIELD: 8 servings

Leave a Reply

