Crispy Nutty Granola

DSC_0099

I know, I know. I already posted a granola recipe. And I do like that one, I really do. But this granola is also really yummy. It doesn’t have dried fruit, its full of toasty goodness, and it even doesn’t have chocolate!

This granola is chock-full of delicious nuts, oats, and spices. What makes it really special to me is its crispiness. It’s crunchy, but it’s also crispy. Before now, I’ve never had crispy granola. And if you haven’t, try it now.

This recipe is really simple and relatively fast. The secret? Rice krispies. That’s what makes it so cripsy without becoming break-your-teeth hard.

Now I have to be honest, I actually didn’t make this recipe, my mom did. It’s been pretty busy around here so I haven’t found time to really get into baking again this week. Hopefully the deliciousness of those cookies makes up for it!

Crispy Nutty Granola

source: adapted from Clean Food– Terry Walters

Ingredients:

4 c. rolled oats

1 1/2 c. Rice Krispies (or any puffed rice cereal)

1/2 c. hemp seed

1 c. chopped almonds

 1 1/2 c. coconut flakes

1 c. chopped pecans

2 T. cinnamon

1/4 t. cloves

1/2 c. (melted) coconut oil

1/2 c. maple syrup

1 t. vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

Combine cinnamon, coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract. Add to remaining ingredients.

Spread in 2 shallow baking dishes (half-sheet pan). Bake for 60 minutes. Turn oven off and leave pans in oven to cool. Break up and serve.

YIELD: approximately 10 cups

Leave a Reply

