Carmel Butterscotch Ice Coffee

Carmel Butterscotch Ice Coffee (3)

There is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that chocolate is one of my favorite (if not favorite) things. Accordingly, it’s one of the things I gave up for Lent, and equally accordingly, I must try to compensate for the loss by inventing deliciously non-chocolate things to consume.

I have been wanting to try my hand at a caramel ice coffee for a couple weeks, but never actually did. That’s kind of a thing about me, if you didn’t notice 🙂

Aaaand I picked up some butterscotch chips from the store this morning…so carmel butterscotch seemed like a natural combination. They are, after all, pretty much sisters. Ok. Let’s not get weird.

A couple of notes:

I was really dumb and chopped up the butterscotch chips instead of melting them (duh) so the first attempt came out a little crunchy, to say the least. Hey, what are mistakes for if not to teach you something?

I used Torani sugar-free caramel syrup, but you certainly don’t have to do that.

Caramel Butterscotch Ice Coffee

Ingredients:

1/2 c. cold coffee

1/2 c. milk (cow or almond)

1/4 t. instant espresso powder

1 T. honey

2 T. butterscotch chips

1 t. caramel syrup

6 ice cubes

Directions:

Melt the butterscotch chips (I always use a microwave) and let cool.

In a blender, combine coffee, milk, espresso powder and honey. Add melted butterscotch, caramel, and ice. Blend until smooth.

YIELD: 1 large serving or 2 small-ish servings

Leave a Reply

