Accidentally Delicious: Frosting Fudge Balls

Frosting Fudge Balls (11)  This Sunday we made donuts. Yay!

Homemade Donuts (4)

Happy St. Patrick’s day! Seriously, you wouldn’t have known we even knew it was St. Patrick’s day, we did nothing. Not that I’m complaining, I get really sick of the hyped-up holidays as they are celebrated today, but we are part Irish…I guess we should have had Corned Beef. Oh well. The weather was absolutely awful, so I imagine the parade was pretty much a disaster. I think it rained, freezing rained, and snowed. Welcome to St. Louis.

Anyways the donuts were SUPER fantastic, and you can get the recipe at Taste of Home’s website, if you like. I found a chocolate glaze recipe that tasted good, but the texture was not so hot. Nevertheless, I’m always up for making the best of a bad situation, and this is how I did it.

The glaze actually hardened in the fridge into a yummy frosting-y, glaze-y fudge. Rolling them into balls and decorating was a bonus-bonus. Green sprinkles, my tribute to my Irish heritage. Hey, I did wear Irish socks out on my run Saturday. That was fabulous.

Frosting Fudge Balls:

Ingredients:

1/3 c. butter (5 1/3 T)

2 c. powdered sugar

1 ½ t. vanilla

4-6 T hot water

4 oz. semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips ( I used about 3 oz. of semisweet and 1 oz. milk)

Directions:

Melt chocolate and butter. Stir in sugar and vanilla until smooth. Stir in water 1 tablespoon at a time, until you reach the desire consistency. Refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours. Roll into balls, decorate as desired.

Frosting Fudge Balls (14)

Leave a Reply

