Banana Espresso Chocolate-chip Muffins

 

Banana Espresso Chocolate-chip Muffins (5)

I was first introduced to Matt and Renato from Baked when I got their book Baked Explorations from the library. Let me tell you, people, that book is fantastic. I made the Chocolate-mint cookies for the staff when I got my braces off, and that was a big hit, and I’ve also made the Chocolate Cake with Mocha buttercream. Heaven!

 Recently, I learned about their other two books: Baked: New Frontiers in Baking, and Baked Elements. So of course, I had to check out both. The second was a little too modern and snazzy for my tastes, no doubt I will like it more as I bake more, but the first really is as good as Baked Explorations.  I made a list of several recipes from it that I wanted to try, and this was first on it.

I made just a few changes: the recipe uses melted butter, so of course I couldn’t resist browning it; and I read in another baking book that the key to a good muffin is letting the batter rest, because that lets the flour hydrate, so I kept mine in the fridge overnight. This also makes it much easier to make some muffins in the morning, if all you have to do is turn the oven on and bake! Also, I just mixed the wet ingredients in a stand mixer then added the dry, but you can do it either way.

If you haven’t heard of Baked, I encourage you to do your research; you will not be disappointed. And if you live in Brooklyn, so much the better. Say hi for me.

Banana Espresso Chocolate-chip Muffins

Ingredients:

1 ½ c. mashed, very ripe bananas (about 4 medium bananas)

½ c. sugar

¼ c. firmly packed light brown sugar

½ c. (1 stick) butter, melted

¼ c. whole milk

1 large egg

1 ½ c. flour

1 t. instant espresso powder

1 ½ t. baking soda

1 t. salt

1 c. (6oz) semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 12-cup muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray (or line them with muffin liners.)

In a medium bowl, stir together the bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg.

In another medium bowl, whisk together the flour, instant espresso powder, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and stir until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Fill each cup about ¾ full. Bake in the center of the oven for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Move the muffin pan to a cooling rack, and let cool for 15 minutes. .After 15 minutes, remove the muffins from the pan and let them finish cooling on the cooling rack. Delicious warm!

YIELD: 12 muffins

Leave a Reply

