Midnight S’mores Clouds

Midnight S'more Clouds (4)

I should definitely get an award for these. Something like “bestest-sister-baker-for-making-your-brothers-awesome-treats,” or “bestest-baker-daughter-for-using-up-pantry-leftovers.” Just a little award, no biggie.

Trying whipped ganache has long been on my to-make list, and since all the ingredients were on hand, I decided to give it a go. Here are some things I have learned about ganache:

1. the cream must be HOT! But watch it, because it will boil over before you can say “barely simmering.”

2. you must let the cream sit on the chocolate for 10 minutes. All of them.

3. when you start stirring the hot cream/chopped chocolate, it won’t look like it’s coming together. You have to just keep swimmi-er, stirring. It will come together, I promise.

4. if you’re making whipped ganache, you must let it cool thoroughly. No cheating.

Other than that, it’s pretty simple! I called these “midnight” because I used oreos instead of graham crackers, which are traditional s’more bases. And, I found that the way to make a crunchy, no bake crust is to use coconut oil instead of butter. Hardens up in the fridge without baking. Genius, right? You’re welcome 🙂

However, if you don’t particularly want the flavor of coconut, you can use a cheaper quality that..ssshh. doesn’t really taste like coconut! But I have to say, coconut s’more are where it’s at.

Finally, the toasted marshmallow tops. Just take a minute to appreciate them. They are beautiful. Luckily, one of our gas lighters is literally like a mini-blowtorch, so I used that on the first few. Unluckily, it sort of ran out of juice and stopped working after those ones.

 Now, here’s the thing: I’m a construction baby. My dad’s been in the biz since before I was born. I know how to work a screwdriver, I know what spackle is, and I know why concrete work can be a real pain in the you-know-what. But if there is one construction tool I’m wary of, its the blowtorch. This is used for soddering pipes, welding work, and, as we all know, carmelizing the sugar on top of creme brulees. Every time I would watch it at work, I just thought about how much it would hurt if you turned it on yourself. How your skin would just melt..and..yeah. It’s not a pretty picture. BUT I have overcome the fear and I worked with it yesterday, with a little help of course. And um, yeah, those last few have burnt tops. There are some who like their marshmallows like that, though. Not that we like to talk about those persons.

Midnight S’mores Clouds

for the crust:

1 c. crushed oreo cookies

1/2 c. coconut oil, melted

for the ganache:

2 oz. chopped milk chocolate

1 oz. chopped semi-sweet chocolate

2/3 c. heavy whipping cream

for the top:

1/2 c. marshmallow creme

assorted candy, chocolate shavings/ curls (optional)

Directions:

For the ganache, heat the cream until boiling and pour over the chopped chocolate. Let sit for 10 minutes, then stir until smooth. Refrigerate for 3 hours. Using an electric mixer, whisk until very fluffy and lighter-than-air.

For the crust, mix together the crushed oreos and melted coconut oil. Press into glasses. Set aside.

Layer the ganache on top of the crusts, then add the marshmallow creme. Toast using a blowtorch (optional).

Top with assorted candies and chocolate curls.

Midnight S'more Clouds (8)

Leave a Reply

