Island Bars

Island Bars (14)

These bars need very little introduction. I found the originals at My Baking Addiction, and they did look really yummy. Nonetheless, as bakers do, I couldn’t resist tweaking the recipe a bit. Where it called for melted butter, I used browned butter. I added pineapple, and I toasted my coconut. Furthermore, I had goofed and not browned enough butter, so my brown sugar mix was a little too dry, when I remembered coconut oil! I am in love with the coconut oil we have in the house, so that was an inspired revision.

Without further ado, I give you Island Bars.

Island Bars

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 ounces unsalted butter, browned and cooled to room temperature
1 oz. coconut oil, melted

1 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup unsweetened flaked coconut, toasted

1/4 c. chopped pineapple
1 cup chocolate chips or chunks
More Coconut-for sprinkling on the top of the bars. 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray.

2. Combine the flour and salt; whisk and set to the side.

3. Stir together the butter and brown sugar until smooth and creamy; beat in egg and vanilla extract until well blended.

4. Slowly beat in the flour and salt mixture until just blended. Next, stir in the coconut, pineapple, and chocolate chips. Scrape the batter into the pan. Make sure the batter is spread evenly, smooth with a spatula. Sprinkle extra coconut on top of the bars.

5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until set in the center but still soft. Do not over-bake the bars. Let cool slightly before serving. Cut the bars into squares.

Leave a Reply

