Buttermilk Bread

Buttermilk Bread (3)

Hello friends. I was super-excited to be posting a recipe for Roxana’s Chocolate party, when I noticed she had a Bake Your Own Bread party too! I was really pumped, and as I already have a bread recipe for April (coincidentally) I decided to share this as well as tomorrow’s post with Roxana. 

So, I’ll be honest here. This is not a quickbread. It is the opposite of a quickbread.

Well, I guess it is pretty darn easy to throw together, but then you have to wait at least, like, 6 hours before you can actually eat it. So you should probably just make a quick bread instead, right? WRONG!

This has always been, and probably will always be, one of the foremost breads of my life. I have always loved it. I love the tight crumb, I love the crispy crust, and I love the slight tang. I’m betting you’ll like it too. It can be compared to me only with Bran Knots or Sour Cream Yogurt Braid (that recipe coming soon!)

Let’s not waste any more time; this bread is easy. Just throw some ingredients in a mixer, really. And wait. Wait for the amazing delicious aromas to fill your kitchen like nothing else but homemade bread can.

Buttermilk Bread

Ingredients:

2 ½ c. buttermilk

½ t. yeast

½ c. oil

½ t. baking soda

2 t. sea salt

½ c. honey

4 ½ c. flour (all-purpose or bread)

Directions:

Heat buttermilk, over a low fire or in the microwave, to 105-115 degrees F.

Add yeast and honey. Let sit for a few minutes.

Add remaining ingredients, mix until combined, and knead for 8 minutes.

Let rise in a warm place for at least 3 hours, or until considerably increased.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease two loaf pans. Divide dough into two equal parts, place each in a loaf pan. Let rise for 30 minutes.

Bake for 40-45 minutes or until crust is golden brown. Remove from loaf pans, let cool and enjoy!

Buttermilk Bread (1)

3 thoughts on “Buttermilk Bread

Leave a Reply

