Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies

 Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies 

If you have seen any of my recent posts, you know I’m getting a little bit obsessed with brown butter. It almost seems like sacrilege to make a cookie dough without it, it’s just so yummy!

Well, my love for brown butter was renewed yesterday by some fantastic cauliflower pasta from the Sprouted Kitchen cookbook. That site, by the way, is pretty darn amazing. What’s not fantastic about a husband/wife photographer/cook/baker team?

Can I just say that I love the library? It’s like my best friend. And I love finding out about awesome cookbooks on blogs that I can get from the library. No purchase necessary! It’s fabulous.

Back to brown butter. I think I might freak out a little bit…I’m staying pretty calm, but, I’m going to run a half-marathon! Yeah. It’s happening. Tomorrow. (!!!!!) I know I shouldn’t be scared, after all, I have put in lots of hours to training and I am ready. It is still a pretty formidable goal, still a pretty monumental event.

But the training isn’t over; we still need some fibers and carbs in here, guys. I should be chugging the water and chowing the carbs. I’ve got the water. Let’s bake some cookies.

Oatmeal, I think, for fiber and deliciousness.

Brown butter? Check.

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate? Antioxidants and stress-relief. Ok, I’m not that stressed, but chocolate will certainly help!

Oh, and let’s not use too much sugar. After all, who needs it?

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (2)

Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Source: adapted from quakeroats.com

Ingredients:

  • ½ c. (1 stick) plus 6 T. butter, (divided) softened
  • ¾ c. firmly packed brown sugar
  • ½ t. stevia or 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1 ½ c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. ground cinnamon
  • ½ t. salt (optional)
  • 3 c. old fashioned oats (not quick)
  • 1 c. raisins or chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a saucepan, cook 6 T of butter until foamy and browned, it will give off a nutty aroma. Let cool completely in a small bowl (save the little browned bits for flavor)

In large bowl, beat the remaining stick of butter and sugars on medium speed of an electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and raisins or chocolate chips; mix well.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

YIELD: around 2 dozen

Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies (5)

Leave a Reply

