A Comparison: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

PBOat Cookies (16)

Delicious cookies, annoyingly long name. Can we just call them PBOat Chocolate chip cookies? I like that…let’s go with that.

PBOat Cookies (41)

Cookies! And fall… and…school! Oh, being homeschooled is such an adventure! So many misconceptions, so many myths. Except for the one about pajamas…no one on the outside knows, but yeah. It’s totally true. So when you’re a homeschooler and you go to the local public school to take the PSAT, what happens? Well the proctor and the other staff will probably say like five times that you’re the only homeschooled student taking the test, but the airhead in front of you will turn around and ask you a question about next period. To which you will reply

“I have no idea, I don’t go to school here.”

“oh you don’t?”

“(no, I do, I’m just trolling you) NO! I’m homeschooled. (weren’t you listening?)”

I suppose I wasn’t recognizable without my long skirt and braces…what exactly are we supposed to look like? Colonial puritans? I don’t understand it. (P.S. I was wearing a Burdened with Glorious Purpose T-shirt). Oh yeah, continuing the conversation, in which another girl has now joined.

“Do you like it?”

“(No I hate it, but I have to do it anyway.) Yes, I do.” I mean, you have to sit in a desk for like 8 hours every day then go home to do more work….I get to stay home and do my school in my own time, and do whatever I want (well, okay…there are standards..) the rest of the time. So what do you think?

“Is it easy?”

“(yes, it’s a blast; we chill in our pajamas and talk about nature and stuff) Um..no.”

Do I have a life? Well…that depends on what you classify as “life.” Does not having a life mean I stay at home all day? Most days, no. Some days, yes. School is not all of life, though. We go on field trips whenever the heck we want…we take vacations whenever we feel like it…we take snow days when it snows…. with no limits! But can we do whatever we want all the time? There’s a lot more to it…caring for a disabled aunt 2 days a week, participating in co-op 1 day a week, working cleaning houses, etc.  Does it mean that I know nothing about pop culture? OMG totes! homeschooling is so cray-cray!. Yeah…no. It’s not like that. But let’s put it this way: I can’t figure out how to go see Thor the Dark World (*gasp* I actually know who Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston are!) with a friend because I’m too busy “not having a life.”

Okay, back to fall and nice things like cookies. I had a hankering for PBOat, so I decided to make two different variations, one I’ve already made here, and a new dump-and- stir recipe. The first dough raw (Brown Eyed Baker’s) was a bit tastier, the cookies are puffier and less chewy than Domestic Fits’. But honestly, I kinda preferred that chewier, granola-ish cookie. It seemed to have more character. However, cookie preferences can easily change with mood, so having both kinds on hand is not a bad thing. Also, they are both fairly easy to throw together, and it took me only about 45 minutes to make both kinds. I urge you to do the same; make one, or make both, either way it’s a scrumptious deal.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Source: Domestic Fits

Ingredients

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup whole oats
  • ½ cup chocolate chips
  • 1 egg

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350

In a large bowl gently stir together all ingredients.

Using a cookie scoop, add golf ball size mounds to a cookie sheet that has been covered with parchment paper, evenly spaced. Flatten to one-inch circles using your hand.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown. Pull the parchment paper off the cookie sheet and onto a flat surface. Allow to cool.

Oh, and here are some more lovely St. Louis autumn pictures.

Fall1023

Fall1024

Beautiful witch hazel.

Fall1022

Squirrel’s eye view? Still some green leaves!

Fall1025

Fall1026

Crabapple. Why is it called that?

Fall1027

Fall1028

Fall1029

Ah yes, the maple tree. With which I have a love-hate relationship because it gave me poision oak..or the vine gave me poison oak, whatever. But I love it because it’s so beautiful! Those colors are priceless and precisely why I know I must always live in a seasonal state. I just love Autumn and Spring! Relevant? No….okay.

Leave a Reply

