Inside Out Double Peanut Butter Cups

Inside out PB Cups (13)text

Alright, listen up peanut-butter lovers: Double. Peanut. Butter. Chocolate peanut butter inside, peanut butter coating outside. See, there’s this spread. Dark chocolate Peanut Butter spread. It’s like nutella, but not. Think spreadable Reese’s, but not so cloyingly sweet. I actually really like how this spread is not very sweet at all.

Inside out PB Cups (9)

However, we have two jars of this spread, and they needed to be consumed in a socially acceptable way. I.e, not straight up on a spoon. Don”t look at me like that, you’ve done it. Don’t lie.

Inside out PB Cups (23)

So there I stood, in front of the pantry with this jar in my hand, wondering what to do with it. Then I remembered Ashley’s awesome post. My version isn’t all-natural and super-cool like hers is, but it works for me. My dad loves peanut butter, and this is at least a more healthy choice than Reese’s. And more aesthetically pleasing. Plus, I stuck to 5 ingredients (insert slow uncertain clapping here). Honestly, I just love the way they look. Better than boring old peanut butter cups.

Inside out PB Cups (33)

So even if I’m not a peanut butter lover (I’d prefer the extra shot of chocolate, please), I know that people are, so this one’s for you.

Inside Out Double Peanut Butter Cups

adapted from edible perspective: check it out, those photos are seriously gorgeous

Ingredients:

5 oz. natural peanut butter

2 T. odorless coconut oil

4 T. powdered sugar

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Spread

salt (optional)

Directions:

Line mini-cupcake pans with paper liners. (you’ll need about 24)

In a small saucepan, combine peanut butter and coconut oil. Stir over heat until melted and smooth. Remove and let cool to room temp. Whisk in powdered sugar.

Spread the peanut butter mixture around in the cupcake liners or line just the bottom of the mini-cupcake liner with a thick coating of peanut butter mixture.

Freeze for about 10 minutes.

Spread chocolate peanut butter spread on top of the frozen peanut butter layer. Top with remaining peanut butter and sprinkle with sea salt. Freeze until hard.

Store in freezer.

 

shared on:http://TidyMom.net

 

 

5 thoughts on “Inside Out Double Peanut Butter Cups

  1. What a delicious idea!!! I’d love to feature this recipe on our meal planning site, Land of Nosh. Would you email me so I can give you the details? info [at] land-of-nosh.com Thanks! Marcia

Leave a Reply

