Puppy Chow Popcorn

Puppy Chow Popcorn (19)text

 

 

I’ve always wanted to try various types of popcorn. Sure, the sea salt/butter combo is pretty spectacular, but the different versions people create intrigue me. Even savory popcorn looks like fun. I have tried caramel corn, and I made it with Biscoff cookie crumbles, and oh. my. goodness. was it delicious. Why yes it was. Even without the chocolate drizzle (say whaat?).

Puppy Chow Popcorn (7)

So this popcorn is like your favorite childhood snack turned on its adult head. Just kidding, its still kid-friendly. (obviously?). It’s not even sophisticated or anything, it’s just popcorn. Is puppy chow even your favorite childhood snack? Wait… what if you haven’t had puppy chow? Oh. All I can say is that you must make it. Now. Classic puppy chow. When you’re done, come back and make this popcorn. You will be grateful to me eternally. Ok, maybe not eternally, but for… a week?

Puppy Chow Popcorn (11)edit

Anyway, this makes a perfect movie snack if you want a break from same old same old popcorn. (sidenote, I was editing this ^ photo and it just kinda happened. That is not the natural look of the photo… does that make me a phony? A photo-ny? I’m not sure…)

Puppy Chow Popcorn

Ingredients:

13 oz. chocolate peanut butter spread (or use 1 cup peanut butter and 1 c. chocolate chips, melted together)*

~2 c. popcorn kernels, popped (makes 8-10 c. popcorn total)

powdered sugar, as desired

Directions:

Melt the chocolate and peanut butter until smooth and pourable. Pour over popcorn, stir to coat (yes, it takes a while. Just keep stirring. Just keep stirring). Coat (shake in a ziploc bag or stir) with powdered sugar to your preference. (I might like mine lightly coated, you might like yours drenched like the arctic) . Store in an airtight container.

*I get it, the math doesn’t’ work out. 13 oz is what I had, if you get 16 I don’t think it will kill ya

Leave a Reply

