Coconut Mocha Ice Cream

 Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (9)

Summer is coming.

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (28)a

Nah, it doesn’t sound as foreboding as “winter is coming”. Probably because summer nothing like winter. Shocker! I would venture to say that a substantial percentage of people are more excited about summer than winter. Ice cream, swimming, vacations, what’s not to love? Well, I’ll tell a secret: I don’t love all of  it. I don’t love trying to fall asleep sweating,  I don’t love wanting to dress the bare minimum, and seeing others dress the bare minimum.  But I suppose like everything else, there are aspects to hate and aspects to love.

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (44)

The above mentioned ice cream certainly is an aspect to love. Also swimming and sunshine, both good things. No school sounds good too…yeah summer, I think I’ll keep you.

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (36)a

This ice cream is made with 3 ingredients. Whaat? I know! And its dairy-free, and almost healthy… almost. Hold on, how can ice cream be dairy free? Meet mah new best friend, coconut milk! Just kidding, we’re acquaintances. The idea for this ice cream came initially from a lack of heavy cream, and ended with a memory of something delicious and different I tried a couple years ago. See, I’m too often a creature of habit. I like what I like, which is usually (ok, maybe more than usually) chocolate. So when I broke out of my shell a few summers ago and opted for a coconut mocha from Starbucks instead of a plain old mocha, I was blown away. It was awesome! Coconut mocha is a spectacular flavor combo. I’m was (am) so glad that I branched out.

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream

Ingredients:

10 oz. chocolate, melted

26 oz (two 13 oz cans) coconut milk

1/4 c. strong brewed coffee

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a blender. Blend until smooth. Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturers directions. Store in freezer.

10 thoughts on “Coconut Mocha Ice Cream

  1. Ohh…sounds delicious! I love ice cream in summer or winter!! In fact, I probably prefer it more in winter as the sun doesn’t melt it…lol.
    Great idea making coconut milk to make it….this looks like an awesome recipe to try 🙂

    Thanks for sharing at Marvelous Monday at Smart Party Planning. Hope to see you again next week 🙂

  2. Oh wow!! This sounds delicious and no messing about with all sorts of preparation – my kind of recipe!! Thanks for sharing! I’m off to buy coconut milk x

Leave a Reply

