One Great Big Samoa

 

One Great Big Samoa (11)Sometimes I swear I am two different people. I can be this smart, confident and cool lawyer-ish persona most of the time, but then my evil twin returns to help me question my sanity. She always has the best ideas and brings the greatest luck. Like rainy days when you had two really cool desserts to photograph (outside, of course). She has the best ideas like touching a pan that just came out of the oven. Brilliant, truly. Oh yeah, and multi-tasking when making caramel. Always so smart.

One Great Big Samoa (18)

If I had a conversation with her, (not saying I do..ok, I do) it would go something like this.

“Stop trying to multi-task! Watch the sugar, it’s going to burn you freaking amateur!” – semi-normal, smart, cool me

“It would so be a great if I just put that burning hot pan over here!” – stupid, psycho me

“What the heck? That just came out of the oven, stupid!”

She’s a wildly different person, truly.

One Great Big Samoa (4)a

Now, the cookie. I’ve worked with toasted coconut and salted caramel before, here, and it was one of the best combinations ever. Ever ever. So incredible. Add some shortbread and melted chocolate, and you’ve quadrupled the old girl scout power. Who buys those boxed and preservative-loaded cookies anymore, anyway? Not me! Not when I can make cheesecake and giant cookies!

One Great Big Samoa (8)a

 

One Great Big Samoa

Ingredients:

Shortbread (I used this gluten-free shortbread)

for caramel

4 oz (1/2 c.) white sugar

3 T. butter, cubed

1 T. heavy whipping cream

4 oz. shredded coconut (about 1 cup, coconut is really light), TOASTED its very important

melted chocolate

Directions:

Bake your shortbread in a 9-inch cake pan, spreading it about 1.5 inches thick.

Meanwhile, start the caramel. In a small saucepan, melt the sugar until it is a dark amber color. (don’t stir the sugar, just swirl the pan). Take off heat and immediately add butter and cream, whisking constantly until smooth and combined. Let cool. Whisk in toasted coconut.

Once shortbread crust has cooled, spread coconut/carmel mixture over it. Drizzle chocolate over the great big cookie. Admire your awesome creation. Eat and revel in deliciousness .

2 thoughts on “One Great Big Samoa

Leave a Reply

