How to make your photos look hipster. A totally legit tutorial.

I’m baaaaack! Heyo friends 🙂

Here I have for you a brilliant (inspired, honestly) tidbit of wisdom:  How to make your photos look hipster. A totally legit tutorial.

I use gimp for all my photoshopping needs, so if you don’t have it, go download it I’m sure you can follow along with lighting adjustments in whatever lame different editing gig you have.

First up, some before and after photos: this is what I do with pictures I don’t really like:

BeforeAfter

BeforeAfter1Okay, so you start out with a normal good-looking photo:

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (36)

Good, but needs a little something-something. First, brighten it up a bit.

 

Tutorial (a)

 

60 seems like enough. Right?

Tutorial(1)

 

Now my favorite tool: curves. Curvy is groovy.

Tutorial(2)

 

Adjust your curves to look like an obtuse angle from the bottom left-side. This is a technical and super-precise tutorial, yo.

Tutorial(3)

 

Here’s a close-up of how that curve should look. You’ll see the difference in your photo, it’s already fabul-ized.

Tutorial(3)zoom

 

Brighten up a little bit more, you can use brightness-contrast or levels for this, but curves are my favorite. I feel like I already said that…

Tutorial(4)

 

Back to the obtuse angle. Is obtuse an offensive term? The curvy curve, then. Your photo’s lighting is of course, different, so this is just a general guide. Mess around! Do what looks cool to you! Photoshopping should be fun, not a hassle!

Tutorial(5)

 

#legit

Coconut Mocha Ice Cream (36)hipster

 

 

8 thoughts on “How to make your photos look hipster. A totally legit tutorial.

Leave a Reply

