Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk #fancypantsfriday

Vanilla Bean Collage

It’s such a joke, isn’t it? This blog of mine. Such a lot of nonsense. Glorious madness, I like to call it.

Such a jumble of different eating habits/beliefs. And apparently I use the word quite quite a lot? Sorry. Get a thesaurus, sheesh.

Wordle for SprinklewithSage

But honestly. I’m not paleo, I like eating paleo. I’m not vegan, but vegan things are healthy and easy on the body. I love chocolate but I’m trying to expand my interests. And I also promised myself I’d post some savory things…

yeah, that’s what I thought too.

Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk (31)a

I get discouraged too, when I think about all the blogs getting attention out there and I compare myself to them. It’s just as frustrating seeing photographs way better than mine and seeing ones just as good or worse than mine, and both are getting much more attention. I have to remind myself that I’m doing this for me. This is my journey, attention or no. It’s been a little over a year and a half, and I have come a long way.

Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk Gif

So even if only 10 people (thanks, family) ever read or notice this little chunk of cyberspace, I’m still proud of it.

Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk (42)s

Anyways. This cashew milk is healthy and dairy-free and delicious (if you’re into cashews). Furthermore, it uses the whole cashew (no wasting! no straining!) and comes together in about 30 seconds, once you’ve soaked the cashews.

Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk (65)a

Stumped for ways to use it? Come back on Sunday!

Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk

Ingredients:

16 oz. unsalted cashews

3 c. water (add more or less to adjust thickness: mine was rather like half-and-half)

1/4 c. maple syrup

1 T. vanilla extract

1/4 t. vanilla bean seeds

Directions:

Soak the cashews overnight in water. Rinse and drain. Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth.

 

*disclosure: when I made this, I originally had 1 c. of almond milk instead of 3 c. water and tried to freeze it into ice cream. (bad idea) that didn’t work, so I let it defrost then blended it with the water. Beautiful!! Had to share it.

10 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Cashew Milk #fancypantsfriday

  1. I’m definitely saving this recipe to try! Love it! Yes, the comparing game=no fun. Like you said, we always need to keep in mind why we started our blogs. I would love to invite you over to Fiesta Friday….it’s a blog party we have every week where people bring stuff…it’s a fun place to learn about different foods and meet other foodie bloggers. If you want to join, go to my page and there is a link on the post I have up. I would write it here but I’m on my cellphone and don’t know how to do that. Lol.

  2. I’m glad you decided to share it too. It sounds delicious. And your photos are beautiful. I sometimes get into the comparing mode too, but then I realise I am doing what I want to do, and that’s really the important thing. And I’m enjoying it and learning a lot. Thanks for joining us and hope you enjoy the fiesta.

  3. Oh Goodness! I felt like you put down into words exactly how I feel about my little blog! I think I’m doing ok at it…I KNOW I’m working hard at it; but a lot of times it just feels like I’m hearing a lot of crickets after I post something! Oh well…I’ll just keep on keeping on!

    Your recipe looks fabulous. I have a son who has a dairy allergy, so I’m always looking for recipes that I can use for him. Thanks for sharing! Will definitely be back to visit.

    Dori
    Follow my blog: Care Create and Cook at Bloglovin
    http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12826517

Leave a Reply

