The Best Hot Chocolate: three ways!

Hot chocolates

It’s actually getting cold. I felt it when I breathed the air outside, and I thought it was high time for hot chocolate.

Salt

Not just boring old hot chocolate though, and not the flavored-water-mix-in. No, we’re going gourmet all the way here. A basic recipe, with three delicious ways to flavor it up, and the possibilities are endless! Pumpkin, gingerbread, anise, mint (yum for some), coconut, earl grey….you see my point.

Rum

Plus you can use nut milk and make it vegan, it’s alreadyresugar-free!

   Cinnamon

When each season comes, I remember how much I love that season and it’s special characteristics that I relish. In fall, I love the crisp weather after the long sweat of summer, I love the colors of the rolling bluffs covered with trees, I love the cozy sweaters and fuzzy slippers. I love everything pumpkin flavored and hot coffee/hot chocolate (of course). I love fresh warm gooey cookies and getting busy with the schoolyear again.

Here’s to an early Autumn!

The Best Hot Chocolate: 3 ways

For the base:

Ingredients:

½ c. unscented coconut oil

¼ c. cocoa powder

3/4 c. maple syrup

2 T. vanilla (it’s a lot- don’t skimp-trust me)

4 c. preferred milk

Directions:

In a large saucepan, melt together coconut oil, maple syrup, cocoa powder and vanilla until smooth Add milk and cook until thoroughly combined and heated. Serve like this, or…

Cinnamon:

After adding milk, add in three broken up cinnamon sticks or 2 t. of cinnamon.

Rum:

Stir in 1-3 T. imitation (or real!) rum with the milk.

Salted:

Add 1-3 t. of salt to the finished product.

3 thoughts on “The Best Hot Chocolate: three ways!

  1. I absolutely LOVE hot chocolate, so my mouth is literally drooling right now! All 3 recipes look very tempting, but as it’s the weekend I think I will have to go with the rum….lol

    Thanks for linking up to Marvelous Monday on Smart Party Planning.

Leave a Reply

