Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino

Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino (113)-2text

So the last post was coffee. I know. I even said “What better drink for the busy days of Fall?” Well, I may have found one.

By the way, I have a bit of bad news. But I brought you this coffee, so hopefully it’s all alright.

Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino (113)-2

Due to the  “doctor’s orders” I am now on a 1500-1800 calorie diet, even thought I shout it to the world that I DO NOT BELIEVE IN CALORIE COUNTING. I don’t think it’s for me, I don’t think it’s for anyone for any prolonged period of time. Good food in good proportions, (the latter part of which I am apparently bad at), is the best way to go.

Pumpkin Milk
LOOK AT THAT ORANGE MILK IT’S SO LOVELY

Due to this, I will now be posting some savory recipes and providing calorie information for everything I post. I haven’t found too many sites that do this in detail, so I’m hoping this will help somebody somewhere out there like me.

Whipped Cream

Even if you’re not counting calories (I sincerely hope you’re not) please don’t leave now, because I promise not to sacrifice taste on anything. But because these recipes will be more involved and because I enjoy blogging the most when I can work hard but not too often on it, I will move to posting once a week.

Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino (68)-2

All of that spiel said, I bring you the pumpkin mocha frappucino. Not too light on the calories, you say? You are wrong.

Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino (98)-2

It’s an amazing fall coffee treat that I really love and will keep coming back to.

Happy October; here’s to happiness and health!

Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino

Ingredients:

4 t. (1 T + 1 t.) honey or maple syrup [honey=80 cal, maple syrup=72 cal]

2 t. cocoa powder [Dutch=14 cal, Hershey’s=6 cal]

1-2 c. coffee [free!]

1/2 c. milk [whole=75 cal. raw =80, nonfat=43]

2 T. pumpkin puree [=10 cal]

ice

Directions:

optional: brew coffee fancyschmancy pumpkin spice coffee by combining 1 t. pumpkin pie spice to every 1/4 c. coffee grinds before brewing. 

In a small bowl, whisk together maple syrup or honey with cocoa powder. Add coffee and stir until well combined. Place in blender with milk, pumpkin puree, and ice. Blend until smooth.

drumroll:
184 using honey and dutch cocoa and raw milk (recommendation) + 15 for 2 T. reddi-whip
137 using Hershey's and maple syrup and nonfat milk (lowest possible)
Compare to Starbucks' 450 pumpkin spice frappuccino. 
ALTERNATIVELY: Simply ice the coffee, add chocolate syrup, and mix in the pumpkin with the milk without blending it, or skip the ice and heat the mixture. It is supposed to be cold weather, after all.
USE coffee ice cubes instead of coffee+ice. I happened to have some on hand, so it was perfect for me.
USE reddi-whip for only 15 extra calories in 2 T.
11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Mocha Frappuccino

  1. Rebecca! I LOVE this! It sounds like heaven and -oh god- it looks like heaven too!
    And that phrase: “Good food in good proportions, (the latter part of which I am apparently bad at), is the best way to go.” => SO me!

    1. Haha people like us, right? You would not believe how many times I have made this (hot and cold) in the past three days. It’s ridiculous. I hope you try it!

  2. This is great! I have cans of pumpkin in the pantry right now – going to make this recipe! And I completely get the calorie counting thing….. Hope it’s only for a short time.

  3. Pingback: A New Year |

Leave a Reply

